29 September 2022 03:43 AM

Local Administration

Cairo Governorate

Saturday، 21 May 2022 - 04:43 PM

Cairo Governorate

Cairo is the capital of the Arab Republic of Egypt, and it is one of the most cities that has diversity of culture and civilization. Since Cairo construction more than a thousand years, Cairo has been the main center of Arab-Islamic civilization; it has included the majority of Egypt's capitals throughout the ages, including the city of ON Heliopolis, Matriyah district , Ayn Shams, and Egypt's capitals since the Islamic conquest by Amr bin Al-Ass in 21AH (641 AD).

1- Cairo landmarks

Cairo includes the main government headquarters as the Presidential Palace, the Prime Ministry and other ministries, the House of Representatives and the Central Bank, and has a number of ancient and modern monuments dating back to different historical periods throughout the ages, for example:

Cairo Tower

The tower was built in the shape of a lotus flower, which was sacred to the ancient Egyptians, and its height reaches 187 meter.

Abdeen Palace

The palace was built during the era of Khedive Ismail in 1863 AD. It was named after Abdin Bey, the military leader in the era of Muhammad Ali Pasha, who had a small palace in the same place as the current palace.

Khan al khalili

It is located in Al-Gamaliya in Cairo, which is a popular market that contains many antiques, utensils, statues and accessories made of metals such as gold, silver, bronze and copper, dating back to six centuries ago.

Salah al-den al-Ayyubi's castle

The castle was established by the leader Salah al-Din al-Ayyubi on the Mokattam mountain in an area called the Dome of Air. It was built after his passed away by Sultan al-Kamil Ibn al-Adil. It includes several mosques, as the Muhammad Ali Mosque, which he built in the middle of the castle, the al-Nasir Qalawun Mosque and School, and the Ajmad Katkhuda Mosque.

Soor Magra El Oyoun

It was built by Sultan Al-Ghouri, and the aim of its construction was to supply the Citadel of Salah al-Din with water by raising the water of the Nile with water wheels to Soor Magra El Oyoon, so that the water flows until it reaches the castle.

Baron Palace

It was built by the Belgian millionaire (Edward Empain), on the Indian architecture style. The palace consists of seven rooms filled with valuables and a unique clock; there is only one similar to it in London.

Egyptian Opera House

 It was opened in 1988 and is located in its new building in Ard- El Jazeera in the city of Cairo, and contains many cultural and entertainment centers, museums and artworks.

International Garden

A public garden, called “International” because each country has a part in the garden, where there are its most famous trees and animals and the most prominent feature of it. There is a special section for the UAE, another for Saudi Arabia and Bahrain, and another for Japan, and for all Arab or foreign countries.

Japanese garden

The park was built in the early twentieth century in Helwan region to represent the Asian civilization. Many Buddha statues were placed inside the park, next to three statues of wisdom monkeys around the lake of the park.

Egyptian Museum

It is one of the largest international museums and is located in the east of Tahrir Square. It was established in 1835 AD in the Azbakeya Park. The museum contains many important relics such as the golden mask of Tutankhamun, the statues of Zoser, Khafra’, Menkaura’, Sheikh el balad, the treasures of Tanis made of gold and silver,and the statue of Amun.

Islamic art museum

It is located in the Bab al-Khalq district, where it was established during the era of Khedive Tawfiq in 1880 AD when Islamic archaeological artifacts were collected in Al-Hakem Be’amr Allah Mosque and placed in a small building in the courtyard of the mosque, which was called the Arab Museum. It contained 111 archaeological masterpieces. Its name and form were changed during the era of Khedive Abbas Helmy II to the exit one.

Coptic Museum

It is located next to the Babylon Fort in ancient Egypt, and the museum was built at the era of the Persian rule of Egypt. The Coptic Museum houses the largest collection of Coptic artifacts in the world and was inaugurated in 1910. The museum was established through the efforts of Marcus Simaika Pasha, a prominent Coptic figure.

Al Azhar mosque

It is one of the most important mosques in Egypt and even in the world as whole. It is considered a mosque and a university at the same time. It was established by Jawhar Al-Siqali by order of Al-Muizz Li-Din Allah Al-Fatimi. It was named Al-Azhar after Fatma Al-Zahra.

Amr ibn al-Aas mosque

The first mosque has been founded in Africa in 641 AD by Amr Ibn al-Aas when he entered Egypt and established the city of Fustat. He gave many names to the mosque, including the Old Mosque, Al-Fath Mosque, and Taj Al-Jawama'i.

Ahmed Ibn Tulun Mosque

It was built by Ahmed Ibn Tulon in 263 AH. Tulon is one of the Turkish Mamluks. He was concerned with engineering in building the mosque. The minaret of the mosque is considered the oldest existing minaret in Egypt, and it is the only remaining mosque in Egypt whose features have not changed for hundreds of years.

Muhammad Ali Mosque

A mosque built on the Ottoman style in the city of Cairo, similar to the Aya Sophia Mosque in Istanbul, built by Muhammad Ali Pasha inside the Citadel of Salah al-Din in the Egyptian capital Cairo, between the period 1830 to 1848.

2-Cairo location

Cairo city is located on the Eastern bank of the Nile and surrounded by Qalyubia province on the north and uninhabited desert on the south and the Giza province and the Nile River on the west. Cairo is the largest city in Egypt. Cairo, the largest city in Africa, is located on the Nile River, 160 kilometers inland from the Mediterranean Sea and 135 kilometers west of the Red Sea.   


The total area of Cairo Governorate is 3,084,676 km2, and the inhabited area is (188,982 km2).


10 million and 103 thousand and 993 people (according to the statistics of the Central Agency for Mobilization and Statistics, February 22, 2022).

5- Cairo Governorate Map

6- Governor:

General Khaled Abdel Aal

7-Cairo's Logo

Al-Azhar Mosque Islam's Minaret and its platform in the whole world is the official logo of Cairo.

8-Cairo's National Day

Cairo celebrates its National Day on 6th of July in which Jawhar Al-Siqilli laid the foundation stone of Cairo in 969 AD to build the new capital of the Fatimid State by order of the Fatimid Caliph al-Muizz Lidin Allah al-Fatimid and named it al-Mansuriya. Cairo ". 
9-The Administrative Division of Cairo

Cairo City consists of 4 areas divided into 38 districts:

The North Area divided to 8 Districts

The East Area divided to 9 Districts

The west Area divided to 9 Districts

The South Area divided to 12 Districts

Cairo also has three new cities which are New Cairo, El Shorouk and Badr City , and it is served by 5 police stations.

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To