03 July 2022 10:26 AM

Developing 8 Group

Monday، 20 July 2009 12:00 AM

D-8, also known as Developing-8, is an organization for development cooperation among the following countries: Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey.

The establishment of D-8 was announced officially through the Istanbul Declaration of Summit of Heads of State/Government on June 15, 1997.

The objectives of D-8 Organization for Economic Cooperation are to improve member states’ position in the global economy, diversify and create new opportunities in trade relations, enhance participation in decision-making at international level, and improve standards of living.

D-8 is a global arrangement rather than a regional one, as the composition of its members reflects. It is a forum with no adverse impact on bilateral and multilateral commitments of the member countries, emanating from their membership to other international or regional organizations.

Purposes and objectives

According to the first Summit Declaration (Istanbul, 1997), the main objective of D-8 is declared to be socioeconomic development in accordance with following principles:

• Peace instead of conflict.
• Dialogue instead of confrontation.
• Cooperation instead of exploitation.
• Justice instead of double-standard.
• Equality instead of discrimination.
• Democracy instead of oppression.


Most Visited

From To