23 July 2024 04:47 AM

Tripartite Regional Economic Communities

Tripartite Regional Economic Communities

Tuesday، 09 June 2015 12:00 AM

Tripartite Regional Economic Communities meetings will be held among the Africa's three largest economic blocs in Sharm el-Sheikh city during the period from June 7, 2015 to June 10, 2015. Delegates from the 26 -Member States of the tripartite blocs will attend the meetings.

The three blocs stand for the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa “COMESA”, the East African Community “EAC” and the Southern African Development Community “SADC”.

The third COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Summit of Heads of State and Government will kick off on June 10.

The decision to launch the tripartite was reached by the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Sectoral Ministerial Committee in October 2014 in Burundi after they agreed that sufficient consensus had been reached to launch the Tripartite Free Trade Agreement “FTA”.

During the Tripartite Summit, FTA will be signed.

A number of international organizations will be present at the event, including the World Trade Organization, African Union, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA), World Customs Organization and African Development Bank, Head of the Egyptian Commercial Service.

Most Visited

From To